ANOTHER REASON TO COME TO THE ROM COM BOOK GROUP NEXT WEEK

The newest Field Library book group, It’s Not Rom-Complicated, is having its meeting next Tuesday, August 8, at 7 p.m., and I would love to have lots of people come and join us.

The book we are discussing this month is The Flatshare, by Beth O’Leary, and it is my favorite of all the books we’ve read so far (all right, that’s only three, but still).  It is incredibly sweet and good hearted as well as being very funny and touching (there was one scene that made me cry, and it wasn’t between the two protagonists, either).  It is a fast read (all the rom coms we’ve been reading are fast reads: between the humorous situations, the funny, flirty banter and the pleasure of anticipating the happy ever after, I find myself whipping through them, devouring them like popcorn or potato chips or – well, you get the idea), it’s got great characters you care about, it’s got some wonderful scenes and subplots, and it’s just a lot of fun.

If you’re holding back from checking us out because you’re afraid that we’ll be “analyzing” the books the way you analyzed books in high school English classes, you obviously have never been in one of my book groups, and especially not in this one.  We do not spend time exploring the details of the imagery or symbolism.  Mostly we chortle together about our favorite scenes (reading certain really good parts aloud), and discuss whether a particular character should have abased himself more (in the last book; nobody needs to abase themselves in this one).  About as “English class” as we get is discussing how this particular book relates to others of its type, or others by this author, and even that is more a matter of sharing the good stuff than being critical in any way.

I’m not begging for people to come to the group just to boost my program statistics (though that would be nice, I’m not going to lie).  I’m begging for people to come to the group so I have more people to share this wonderful book with.  Copies are still available at the library, and you can absolutely read this one in less than a week (and you’ll want to).  Come and have some fun, and help us decide what fun book we’ll be reading next month.

3 thoughts on “ANOTHER REASON TO COME TO THE ROM COM BOOK GROUP NEXT WEEK

    • You’re not an idiot — I’ve made similar mistakes in public before, so don’t feel bad. The meetings will usually be on the first Tuesday of the month but I had to move it this month. Come and get the book anyway — ask for the Rom Com book group book if I’m not on desk.

      Like

Leave a comment