THE BEST DAY OF THE WEEK AT THE LIBRARY

There’s no question in my mind: Tuesday is my favorite day of the week at the library.  Tuesday is when new fiction is released, and Tuesday morning I get to put the newest fiction on the shelves.  

I’m already aware of what’s coming out in a particular week because (oh, lucky me!) I’m the person who buys adult fiction.  I purchase in advance to be sure that the books will be here as soon as they’re published.  This doesn’t always work, because of difficulties on the supply end, but if there’s a book that’s going to be popular, I want to be sure I’ve ordered it beforehand so I can blame any delays on the supply chain and not on myself.

But even knowing in advance what’s coming out in a particular week doesn’t lessen the excitement and the delight of seeing those beautiful new books on the cart, ready to be put on the shelves. If there are books I’ve been anticipating for a while, seeing them in physical form is a thrill.  Even if they’re not books I personally have lusted after (and trust me, there are plenty I lust after and put on hold in advance), seeing the new books, knowing what they’re about, anticipating people coming in and taking them out immediately is a major pleasure of mine.

There are patrons who already know this, regulars who show up every Tuesday as soon as those books are on the shelf, to get their hands on the newest books first. I’d love to have all our patrons know this, and take advantage of this. I’d love to have everyone share my delight and anticipation every Tuesday morning, rushing to the library to see what’s new and what’s going to be hot.  I don’t always know what’s going to be the breakout book of the year.  Nobody knows that, I think, until the holds start being placed.  There’s always hope, and there are always certain books and certain authors I keep an eye on, waiting to see if this is going to be the hottest book of the year, whether I’ll need to buy more copies to make sure our patrons get their chance to read it.  And even if a book isn’t a bestseller or a hot hold item, I love the prospect of telling patrons about a particular book, guessing whether it will be the book they want to read right now.

There are absolutely other aspects of my job at the library that I love: giving people new library cards, giving people their holds (it’s like Christmas!  You ask for something and then you get it!  And if you have to wait a while for it, the delight’s even greater when you finally do get it!), but I always look forward to Tuesdays, when I can bring out the new fiction and share it with patrons.

Leave a comment